Upcoming Events
1st Sunday in November
Hall of Fame Luncheon/Induction

Girls and Women in Sport Day

National Girls and Women in Sports Day was chartered by the U.S. Congress in 1986 to honor female athletic achievement and recognize the importance of sport and fitness participation for all girls and women.

Girls and Women in Sport Day became a national celebration in 1987.  It is a day set aside to honor all of the female athletes on all levels.  The first national honoree was volleyball player and women’s equality advocate, Florence Hyman (who died of Marfan’s Syndrome in 1986 while competing in a volleyball tournament in Japan) for whom the day has become a special honor.

The Massachusetts Celebration of Girls and Women in Sports Day, sponsored by New Agenda- Northeast, began in 1988.  Two female athletes and a coach or athletic director from every high school in the state was invited to Boston for a day of honor and motivation.  First held at the State House in the House of Representative chamber and then in the Gardner Auditorium, the event grew too large to be hosted there.  A celebration was held at Boston University in 1996, and then moved to Faneuil Hall in Boston, in 1997, where it has been ever since.  The move from the state house also strengthened the partnership between New Agenda: Northeast and the Massachusetts Interscholastic Athletic Association (MIAA).  The New Agenda Northeast and MIAA have run this program through 2023. The MIAA will take over completely in 2024. Keynote speakers at this event have included Pat Summitt, Cathy Inglese, Mary Pratt, Kathy Delaney Smith, as well as recognized journalists and businesswomen.

In 1996 the MIAA started running the event with input from New Agena Northeast and the Commette on Girls’ Sports. The MIAA had more influence as the years went on with New Agena- NOrtheast figting to retain co-sponsoroship and recognintion in the program and event. 

In 2024, the New Agenda-Northeast Women’s Sports Organiztion gave over complete control to MIAA and declined any further involvement with the sponsorship of this event.  

Check The MIAA Website for information on the MA Celebration event. 


Feb. 3, 1988 – House Chambers, Boston
Jane Blalock

Feb. 4, 1989 – House Chambers, Boston
Rive Nestor

Feb 5, 1990 – House Chambers, Boston
Mimi Murray

Feb. 6, 1991 – House Chambers, Boston
Jane Blalock

Feb 7, 1992 – Gardener Auditorium, Boston
Pat Head Summit

Feb 5, 1993 – Gardener Auditorium, Boston
Jean Driscoll

Feb 4, 1994 – Faneuil Hall, Boston
Mary Ellen Clark

Feb. 3, 1995 – Faneuil Hall, Boston
Barbara Stevens

Feb. 2, 1996 – Case Center, Boston University
Cathy Inglese

Feb. 4, 1997 – Faneuil Hall, Boston
Mary Pratt

Feb. 4, 1998 – Faneuil Hall, Boston
Christine Basile

Feb. 7, 1999 – Faneuil Hall, Boston
Kathy Delaney Smith

Feb 4, 2000 – Faneuil Hall, Boston 
Sara Behn

Feb. 4, 2001 – Faneuil Hall, Boston
Sharon Barbano

Feb. 7, 2002 – Faneuil Hall, Boston 
Karen Smyers

Feb. 1, 2003 – Faneuil Hall, Boston
Dorothy Franco Reid

Feb. 1, 2004 – Faneuil Hall, Boston
Jennifer Walker

Feb. 6, 2005 – Faneuil Hall, Boston
Monique Maye

Feb. 2, 2006 – Faneuil Hall, Boston
Denise Desautels

Feb. 2, 2007 – Faneuil Hall, Boston
Nancy O’Neil

Feb. 1, 2008 – Faneuil Hall, Boston
Karissa Niehoff

Feb. 6, 2009 – Faneuil Hall, Boston
Jackie MacMullan

Feb. 5, 2010 – Faneuil Hall, Boston
Mary Mazzio

Feb. 4, 2011 – Faneuil Hall, Boston
Kristen Holmes-Winn

Feb. 3, 2012 – Faneuil Hall, Boston 
Kristine Lilly

Feb. 1 2013 – Faneuil Hall, Boston 
Amy Latimer

Feb. 7, 2014 – Faneuil Hall, Boston
Martha Coakley

April 3, 2015 (ppd – snow) – Faneuil Hall, Boston
Maura Healey

March 23, 2016 (ppd – snow) – Faneuil Hall, Boston
Maura Driscoll

Feb. 3, 2017 – Faneuil Hall, Boston – Geneva “Gevvie” Stone

May 15, 2018 (ppd – FH repairs) – Gillette Stadium, Foxboro – Sarah McKenna

Feb. 1, 2019 – Faneuil Hall, Boston – Karissa Niehoff

Feb. 2020- Laney Clement Holbrook

May 27, 2021- Virtual Celebration (Covid) – Samantha Mewis

May 20, 2022- Faneuil Hall, Kathy Delaney Smith, Speaker

April 28, 2023 – Kristen McDonnell, Speaker

The Massachusetts Celebration of Girls and Women in Sports Day was held on May 20, 2022, at Faneuil Hall in Boston.  This event is co-sponsored by the New Agenda – Northeast and the MIAA.  Sherry Bryant from MIAA was the host and Leda Levine gave an inspirational welcome from New Agenda – Northeast.  The Keynote speaker was Kathy Delaney Smith, recently retired Head Basketball Coach at Harvard University.  She was awesome and very motivational for the high school athletes in attendance.  Women Athletic Directors were also honored on this day.

women ADs